What are Chakras Part 1: Muladhara

No matter where we’re from and what we do, we all search for balance and peace in our lives. We participate in many activities to try to achieve this. Going to the gym, completing puzzles or socialising with friends and family are some of the common pass-times we enjoy to find that balance. These are all great, but really, really finding peace comes from within us. Our spirit. Our energy. Our chakras.

Chakras are the life force within our bodies. While it may be argued that there are thousands within us, there are seven major chakras which align vertically along the spine, starting from the base through to the crown of the head. Human life simultaneously exists in two parallel dimensions, one “physical body” (sthula sarira) and another “psychological, emotional, mind, non-physical” called the “subtle body” (suksma sarira). The subtle body is energy, while the physical body is mass. The psyche or mind plane corresponds to and interacts with the body plane, and the body and the mind mutually affect each other.

For us to be calm and at peace our chakras need to be balanced but external forces and challenges of everyday life upset the balance. Like, share and follow the chapters as we take a look at where your chakras are located, the negative effects they have when they are misaligned, and how to bring back the balance.

Muladhara (The Root Chakra)

The muladhara chakra is found at the base of our spine, it grounds us and augments our survival instincts.

There are days when we are easily angered, have low energy levels and feel alienated from our loved ones and ourselves. These signs indicate that your root chakra is off balance.

Positive Affirmations

Thinking positive thoughts bring safety and security to our well being, reciting positive affirmations aligns the muladhara.

I am safe. I am secure. I am grounded. I belong in this world. I have all that I need. I am at peace with my surroundings, with people and the events that occur. I trust more and fear less.

Try these affirmations to begin with, but feel free to come up with your own. Just remember to keep them positive.


Calling into existence by visualising a red lotus flower at the base of your spine allows positive energy to flow into your body as you inhale and negative energy to leave as you exhale.


Red food speaks to the root chakra. Fill your belly with apples, beans, strawberries, pomegranate, beets, watermelon, cherries and pepper.

Muladhara Red Fruit


Smells and scents, essential oils like cedar wood, patchouli, ginger, rosewood, cloves and black pepper help relax and help with visualization.

Chakra Mudra

Touch the tip of your thumb with the top of your index finger and focus on your root chakra. Chant the LAM mantra.

Healing with nature

The muladhara is an earth element. Spending time outdoors and experiencing nature’s sounds, smells and sights heals and brings the muladhara chakra back into alignment.

Read on to learn about Svadisthana, the Sacral Chakra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *